Jeetbuzznews Logo

Cricket Highlights, July 07: LPL 2024 (Match 9) – Galle Marvels vs Kandy Falcons

Cricket Highlights, July 07: LPL 2024 (Match 9) – Galle Marvels vs Kandy Falcons

Galle Marvels vs Kandy Falcons (Match 9) – Highlights


In this article, we explore the exciting 9th match of the Lanka Premier League on July 07, 2024, at Dambulla. The showdown between the Kandy Falcons and the Galle Marvels was packed with thrilling moments and intense action. Boundaries were hit with precision, and fielders hustled to make crucial stops. By the end, spectators were left buzzing with the thrill of a closely fought contest.


The match unfolded with the Kandy Falcons setting a competitive target of 175/7 in their 20 overs, anchored by Wanindu Hasaranga’s impressive 65 not out. However, the Galle Marvels responded strongly, led by Tim Seifert’s unbeaten 82, guiding them to a commanding victory with 17 balls to spare, ending at 176/4. Isuru Udana’s all-round brilliance earned him the Player of the Match award for his pivotal contributions in the Marvels’ triumph.


Kandy Falcons faced early setbacks, losing Dinesh Chandimal (1) and Mohammad Haris (0) cheaply, both falling to disciplined bowling from Dwaine Pretorius and Isuru Udana respectively.


Andre Fletcher steadied the ship with a solid 50 off 36 balls, hitting four fours and two sixes before being trapped lbw by Maheesh Theekshana. However, wickets continued to tumble as Kamindu Mendis (10) and Pavan Rathnayake (0) were dismissed in quick succession by Udana, leaving the Falcons struggling at 32/4.


Angelo Mathews contributed a steady 25 from 27 balls but fell to Zahoor Khan. The turning point of the innings was a blistering knock by Wanindu Hasaranga, who smashed an unbeaten 65 off just 32 balls, featuring seven fours and three sixes. 


His explosive batting propelled the Falcons to a competitive total. Dasun Shanaka chipped in with a quick 9 off 4 balls before being bowled by Zahoor Khan, while Dushmantha Chameera added a late cameo of 5 not out from 3 balls. The innings ended at 175/7, with a run rate of 8.75.


The Galle Marvels successfully chased down the target of 176 runs set by the Kandy Falcons with a commanding performance, reaching 176/4 in just 17.1 overs. Their innings was anchored by a magnificent unbeaten 82 off 49 balls by Tim Seifert, who smashed 11 fours and 2 sixes at a strike rate of 167.34.


The Marvels had a quick start despite losing Captain Niroshan Dickwella (12 off 6 balls) in the very first over to Shoriful Islam. Alex Hales then played an explosive innings of 38 off 19 balls, including four fours and three sixes, before falling to Wanindu Hasaranga, leaving the score at 91/2 in the 7th over.


Bhanuka Rajapaksa added 16 off 13 balls with two sixes before being dismissed by Shoriful Islam. Janith Liyanage contributed 11 off 7 balls but was stumped by Dinesh Chandimal off the bowling of Lakshan Sandakan.


Sahan Arachchige provided support with a steady 9 not out from 9 balls as Seifert guided the team to victory. The Marvels maintained a high run rate throughout their innings, ending with a run rate of 10.25.


In the bowling department, Shoriful Islam was the standout performer for the Falcons, taking 2 wickets for 32 runs in his 4 overs. Wanindu Hasaranga and Lakshan Sandakan each took a wicket but were unable to stem the flow of runs effectively. Dushmantha Chameera and Dasun Shanaka went wicketless, with Shanaka conceding 19 runs in just 1.1 overs.


In the 9th match of the Lanka Premier League held on July 07, 2024, in Dambulla, the Galle Marvels secured a comprehensive victory over the Kandy Falcons by 6 wickets with 17 balls remaining.


Isuru Udana, who played a crucial role in both the bowling and the fielding departments, was named the Player of the Match. His performance helped restrict the Falcons and set the stage for a successful chase by the Marvels. The victory was achieved with 17 balls to spare, highlighting the dominance of the Galle Marvels in this encounter.


Kandy Falcons vs Galle Marvels Scoreboard


Kandy Falcons – 175/7 (20.0)

Galle Marvels – 176/7 (17.1)

Result – Galle won by 6 wickets

Player of the match – Isuru Udana


Cricket Highlights, July 07: LPL 2024 (Match 9) – Galle Marvels vs Kandy Falcons Isuru Udana


Kandy Falcons vs Galle Marvels Playing Eleven



Kandy Falcons

Dinesh Chandimal, Andre Fletcher, Mohammad Haris, Kamindu Mendis, Pavan Rathnayake, Angelo Mathews, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dasun Shanaka, Dushmantha Chameera


Galle Marvels

Niroshan Dickwella, Alex Hales, Tim Seifert, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Janith Liyanage, Sahan Arachchige, Dwaine Pretorius, Isuru Udana, Maheesh Theekshana, Kavindu Nadeeshan, Zahoor Khan


Stay ahead in the world of cricket with our curated Cricket Highlights. Explore thrilling match summaries, standout performances, and in-depth analysis at JeetBuzz News. Don’t miss out, immerse yourself in the excitement now!

More Cricket Article

PHP Code Snippets Powered By :